Musical micropause: B

Four more of my favourite songs….

Beck: Mexico
A cautionary tale of the dangers faced by McDonalds night shift workers everywhere. I think it’s hilarious, but I don’t work at McDonalds.

 

Blue Nile: Happiness
When I was driving from Glasgow to Lands End in 1998, this was the first song played each morning. From Peace At Last, which reviewers say is the  Blue Nile CD that sounds least like them, but it’s my favourite.

 

Syd Barett: Dark Globe
Founder of Pink Floyd, but no longer a member, this is Syd Barrett at his most eloquent and most fragile. Look out for great cover versions by REM and David Gilmour. I first heard the REM version over Lagavulin in Exeter. It sounded better and better.

 

Billy Bragg: The Saturday Boy
Captures perfectly the schoolboy crush. And I thought I was the only person who whistles during the trumpet solo. Wonderful lyrics about those wasted chances.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

